Skip to main content


I am one of those unique people who have had lots of opportunities. I grew up in a family situation that was definitely different. My father worked for the State Department, a fact that we did not know until his death. My whole life, we travelled from one war torn country to another. Every now and then we got to visit a pleasant country. My mother trained and showed dogs internationally. She taught me the art of handling, showing, and training dogs as soon as I could walk and talk..

Over 30 years, I have worked for several training schools: Highland Dog Training, Petsmart as a dog trainer, Wellspring Canine Training Center. I eventually turned my skills toward working with animals with behavioral problems for rescue organizations such as SEPRA and Havanese Rescue.

In these economic times, more dogs are being "home schooled." Unfortunately, that means that more dogs are showing up in shelters because of behavior problems. It is my goal to help people train their own dogs at home with minimal cost. Given proper guidelines, there is no reason that the average pet owner cannot create the canine partner of their dreams.

My father taught me to fight and to shoot. Because of the political situations in the countries where we lived, self-defense was a critical skill. I have found that being able to handle myself physically even though I am a rather small woman is disarming to most people.

I was born in Japan of American parents and attended college here in the United States. I became a police officer in 1985. I have worked patrol in housing projects and the most affluent areas in Atlanta. I worked my way up through the ranks to Detective and finally Lieutenant. I left police work in 1997 to become a body guard for the CEO of a large global corporation. I have earned many certifications related to my career including Certified Protection Professional and International Security Driver.

I have a Bachelor of Science Degree from Georgia State University in Criminal Justice. I am a POST certified instructor of Police Officers and Instructors of Police Officers. I have taught five years for a community college teaching Criminal Justice, Law, and Computer Science Classes. I am currently working on my Masters in Public Administration.

I speak beginner level Japanese, Farsi, and Spanish with a little French, Indonesian, Samoan and Italian. I practice as much as I can to improve my language skills, but I cannot claim fluency in anything including English.

My passion is horses. I started riding horses when I was six years old. I owned my first horse at 11. I started apprenticing with a horse trainer part time when I was 14. I am now pushing 50 and I own three lovely horses who are all dear to me. I have established two horse businesses for other people who are now quite successful. I no longer train horses for other people, but I will assist people who have difficult horses learn to work with them. I believe that positive reinforcement and natural horsemanship techniques will work faster and last longer than the old style training methods that we used 30 years ago.

I hope to share some of my knowledge and experiences with you, as well as learn new skills through research writing. I hope that you enjoy them and that you will give me feedback to improve.