The Core Knowledge Sequence Edited by E. D. Hirsch, Jr., a Book Review - WeHaveKids - Family
Updated date:

The Core Knowledge Sequence Edited by E. D. Hirsch, Jr., a Book Review

Author:

C. E. Clark home schooled her child from Kindergarten through high-school. Public and private education is high in importance to Ms. Clark.

book-review-the-core-knowledge-series-edited-by-e-d-hirsch-jr

The Core Knowledge Series Books Are Invaluable

The Core-Knowledge Series, often also called the Core-Knowledge Sequence, includes resource books for grades one through six. Each is titled in turn; What Your First Grader Needs To Know, What Your Second Grader Needs To Know, and so on, through What Your Sixth Grader Needs To Know. Each book details the fundamentals of a good well-rounded education for the particular grade it focuses on.

Additional books are also available for grades 7 and 8. Further, books for preschool and kindergarten are also available. This book series is comprehensive and used by teachers in both public and private schools. There are also books are specific subjects such as math, language, history, and more.

All the books in this series are edited by E. D. Hirsch, Jr., who as many of you probably already know, also wrote A First Dictionary Of Cultural Literacy: What Our Children Need To Know, and also, Cultural Literacy: What Every American Needs To Know.

The Core-Knowledge Foundation is a nonprofit organization working for educational excellence and equity built on strong foundations of shared knowledge. I can't recommend The Core Knowledge Sequence strongly enough to parents and educators, whether you just want to participate in your child's education to make sure your child receives the best possible well-rounded education, or if you are homeschooling your child, or if you are a professional educator.

The Core Knowledge Foundation makes most of their materials available free of charge for non-commercial use.

This photo includes all the books in this collection by E. D. Hirsch, but they can be purchased individually, or just the Core-Knowledge Series set for grades 1 through 6.

This photo includes all the books in this collection by E. D. Hirsch, but they can be purchased individually, or just the Core-Knowledge Series set for grades 1 through 6.

These Books Can Benefit All Students and All Parents Who Take an Active Part In Their Children's Education

All of the books listed above are excellent sources for homeschooling parents who want to make as certain as possible that they are not leaving anything important out of their child’s education. Everyone wants his or her child to have a well-rounded education.

The Core Knowledge Series covers a wide variety of areas including language arts, English literature, geography, American civilization, world civilization, fine arts (music and visual arts and plays), mathematics, natural sciences, and much more.

All through public and private school, teachers add information from a variety of sources that are usually not included in the classroom textbook in order to bring additional perspectives and information to their pupils. I highly recommend that parents who are homeschooling their children do the same thing.

The Core Knowledge Series of books is very helpful in bringing parents’ attention to those things that are important to add to their child’s educational experience. Parents should use these books as an excellent guide to making sure they have left nothing out, but should not limit themselves to what is listed in these books. There are new things happening every day that our children need to be aware of and informed about according to their age and grade level.

The Core-Knowledge Series is an excellent resource, and I highly recommend the Series to everyone, both for their children and for themselves. Many adults may have missed some of the information included in these books when they were in school or may have forgotten it, but I especially recommend this Series of books to homeschooling parents. I utilized the books when I was a homeschooling parent and I found them invaluable. They are continually being updated to keep them relevant.

The Core-Knowledge Series of books are generally available both new, and used, at bookstores, on eBay, and in a great many other places, so they need not be expensive. Also, the books can be purchased separately.

My child was already at the 4th-grade level when I discovered these books, but I purchased them all anyway. I was glad I purchased them all in the end, even though my child was beyond the grades covered in some of them, because there were a few things in the books covering the first through third grade levels that I had left out of my child’s curriculum, so we were able to include them in the lessons we were doing at the time.

Also for homeschooling parents, I highly recommend, A First Dictionary Of Cultural Literacy: What Our Children Need To Know. It is a single volume written prior to The Core-Knowledge Series and can also be very helpful in making sure you aren’t leaving anything important out of your child’s educational experience.

So that my readers will know, I am recommending The Core-Knowledge Series of books because I utilized these books myself when I homeschooled my child, and I consider them one of the best resources available for homeschooling parents. I hope this information will be helpful for other homeschooling parents as well as parents in general who want to take an active role in their child’s education.

book-review-the-core-knowledge-series-edited-by-e-d-hirsch-jr

Comments

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on March 03, 2015:

Huntgoddess, yes you should! ;) Appreciate that you have read the ones that you have. Yes, I understand what you're saying better than you think. Hope everything is as good for you as it can be, all things considered. Take care . . .

Huntgoddess from Midwest U.S.A. on March 02, 2015:

No problem. I should be reading more of your great hubs, and I'm sorry I have been a little delinquent. I have very limited Internet time. I don't have a home or a computer of my own, and have to deal with institutional rules.

Yes, I agree the Hirsch books are for everybody, in any family. Nobody would be disappointed.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on February 27, 2015:

Huntgoddess, thank you for taking time to check out this review. I love those books too, which is why I wrote this review. I think they're great for anyone wanting help covering as much as possible whether homeschooling or making sure their public/private schooled child gets a well rounded education. Thanks for the votes too!

Huntgoddess from Midwest U.S.A. on February 25, 2015:

OMG!! I love the Hirsch books. My son was just talking about them the other day, and how much he loved them when he was in homeschooling.

He is now a senior at the university, and he has a great job, as well.

Up, etc ++ Thanks, Au fait.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on October 24, 2014:

Peggy W, thank you for coming back and pinning and sharing this article! I think every parent, regardless of how they are educating their child(ren), would find these books beneficial to their children.

Peggy Woods from Houston, Texas on October 21, 2014:

I am going to pin this again to another category I created called Books. Sharing this again with HP followers. This sounds like every parent who is home schooling would benefit from having a set of these books.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on August 03, 2014:

Thank you for taking time to check this article out PegCole17. I learned at least as much as my daughter when I home schooled her. These books are a wealth of information and especially helpful for elementary grades.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on August 02, 2014:

Peggy W, thank you for Google+ing, tweeting, pinning, and sharing this article! These books are a great way to make sure nothing is forgotten or left out of a well rounded education.

Peg Cole from Northeast of Dallas, Texas on July 31, 2014:

This would probably be interesting reading to those of us who've been out of school for a while and our kids are already grown into adulthood. Thanks for pointing out this valuable source of reading and educational materials. Always a good find.

Peggy Woods from Houston, Texas on July 30, 2014:

Hi Au fait,

This information is definitely worth sharing and will do so by tweeting, G+ and pinning. Thanks for writing it. Will also share once again with HP followers.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on December 24, 2013:

MG Singh, thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment. Hope you enjoyed this review and learned something from it as I have done with yours.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on December 23, 2013:

Thank you Shyron, for voting on, pinning, and sharing this article! These books are updated regularly and therefore remain forever relevant. A great source for everyone, especially parents no matter what form of schooling they may choose for their children.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on December 22, 2013:

Thank you for stopping by Rebeccamealey!

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on December 21, 2013:

Thank you moonlake, for voting on and sharing/pinning this review! More and more people are choosing homeschool for a lot of reasons, and working for our local school district, I can tell you that everyday I'm so thankful I home schooled my own daughter. Her education is superior AND she and our family avoided so much bureaucracy and problems originating from bureaucracy, you just do not know . . .

MG Singh from UAE on December 19, 2013:

Thank you for an very informative review

Shyron E Shenko from Texas on December 18, 2013:

Au fait, I don't know how I missed this valuable hub, I thought I read every one of your hubs.

Voted up UAI, shared and pinned to Amazing HubPages board.

Rebecca Mealey from Northeastern Georgia, USA on December 18, 2013:

Thanks Au Fait. Sharing your great homeschooling tips!

moonlake from America on December 18, 2013:

Good information that I am sure many home schoolers can use. After the shootings in school I am sure more parents are going to home school. Voted up, shared and pinned.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on January 31, 2013:

Thank you Peggy W for reading, voting, and sharing this hub! Everything you say is right on. This set of books has been updated regularly to keep it relevant and it's a great reference, and has excellent examples and explanations of everything it covers -- which is a considerable amount of material on every subject.

Peggy Woods from Houston, Texas on January 27, 2013:

Always good to hear about the best resources available and since you have personally used these books as a reference when homeschooling your own children...this information will be useful to many other people who may not be aware of this series. Even if not homeschooling, parents may be interested in reading these to make sure that their children are getting a well rounded education. After all, education is a 24 hour a day job and not only regulated to teachers during the hours spent at school. Voted UUI and will share.

C E Clark (author) from North Texas on February 14, 2012:

Trsmd: Thank you for stopping to read and make comments. This set of books is full of great information for a more rounded educational experience.

Trsmd from India on February 12, 2012:

Nice review about the core knowledge series. It will really be helpful. Thanks for SHARING:)

clippy34 on November 14, 2011:

No, I wasn't aware of these books either.

Absolutely brilliant, thanks for bringing them to our attention.

mistifields on November 10, 2011:

I was not aware of this series of books. Thanks for sharing.

Related Articles

colfaxboyshomeschool

Home School Update: Whatever Became of the Colfax Boys?

An update on the Colfax boys from "Homeschooling For Excellence" Fame. Their successes and what they are doing now.

home-schooling-questionnaire

Homeschooling Questionnaire: Is Home Schooling Right For You?

Questionnaire to help parents determine if home schooling is right for their children and their family.

homeschooling-checklist-for-the-anxious-parent-a-gude-for-beginners-and-experienced-homeschoolers

What Homeschoolers Must Know: The Real Scoop

Whether you are just starting out on the homeschooling journey or are a well-seasoned homeschool parent, here's the real scoop about what matters and what you need to know.

a-traveller-in-time-book-review

A Traveller in Time - Book Review

History and Time Travel collide in this fantastic book by Alison Uttely. Penelope steps into the past and encounters Mary Queen of Scots and the Babington Plot! Pure magic!

Gregory the Terrible Eater by Mitchell Sharmat, a Reading Rainbow book about picky eating, healthy foods, and nutrition

Gregory the Terrible Eater Book Review

Gregory the Terrible Eater, by Mitchell Sharmat, teaches principles of good nutrition in a humorous way. This article contains a review of the book and related activities for kids.

seven-things-homeschoolers-wont-tell-you

Seven Things Homeschoolers Won’t Tell You

Some common misconceptions and myths about homeschooling from the socialization myth to the idea that we are all religious.

best-narrative-nonfiction-books-for-kids

A Review of the 37 Best Narrative Nonfiction Books for Kids

A librarian's reviews and summaries of the best narrative nonfiction books for children, which are emphasized in the curriculum of the common core from kindergarten through 6th grade.

servant-like-jesus-a-book-review

Book Review: 'A Servant Like Jesus'

"A Servant Like Jesus" is a Christian children's book aimed at teaching how one can and should help others. What are the pros and cons of this book? What is the ideal audience?

homeschool-science-curriculum

The Best K-12 Homeschool Science Curricula

This article explains my favorite homeschool science curricula for elementary, middle school, and high school. There are tables that compare the books available, ease of use, and cost of each.

the-underneath-by-kathi-appelt-childrens-book-review

A Book Review of “The Underneath” by Kathi Appelt

What do you get when you cross a pregnant calico cat with a lonely, chained-up hound dog? An unforgettable tale of misfortune and love in the best and worst of times.

A Homeschooling Mom's Review of Power Homeschool (Formerly Acellus Homeschool Mode)

A valuable online resource with an associated App that is mostly user-friendly.

Do Homeschool Kids Really Rate Better on Standardized Tests?

Homeschoolers rate better on standardized tests than public school students. Homeschool kids outperform other students in spelling bees and other academic contests.

home-school-educating-deschool

Home School Education: Deschooling

Beginning home-schooling is a huge decision and can engender terror in the hearts of parents brave enough to undertake such a commitment. Fear not, it's not so scary after all. First comes 'deschooling'...

socializing-and-homeschooling-why-the-socialization-question-is-stupid

Why Homeschoolers Hate the Socialization Question

Homeschoolers often, and I mean very often, hear the question "But what about socialization?" Here's why this question is completely cringe-worthy. Please stop asking us that!

an-easy-music-appreciation-curriculum-for-young-children

An Easy Music Appreciation Curriculum for Homeschoolers

A guide for designing and implementing your own music appreciation curriculum for homeschoolers.