Impyrium: Magical Characters, Sorcery, and Fantasy Thrills in a New Series for Fans of the Fantasy Genre

Updated on September 8, 2016
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Intrigue and Magic in a New Fantasy World

Young readers of this popular genre on the order of Potter and the popular "Game of Thrones" will be excited to dive into "Impyrium" by Henry Neff. The worlds of sorcery, magical characters, and intrigue are all in this new fantasy series to keep readers engaged in the story of Hazel Faeregine and her sisters. Hob,a young boy from the cold Northeast, joins in the mix to spy on the palace in which Hazel lives, and plots to destroy the Faeregine dynasty. Hazel is more interested in magic than she is in helping her family maintain the dynasty, but her mother has other plans to use Hazel's magical talent to save the kingdom. Both characters are joined together in all of the sinister happenings that will keep readers turning the pages until the end.

Neff's plot is magically well-developed and each character stands on his/her own with intrigue. Young readers will want to take sides as they read. The black and white illustrations lend additional magic to the story. Neff also combines a futuristic sci-fi genre with his fantasy in "Impyrium" that will appeal to readers. A character list and glossary of magical terms and places are also included at the end of the book.

"Impyrium" was published by HarperCollins Children's Books, and is recommended for ages 8-12. The YA audience will also enjoy the book. It has an ISBN of 978-0-0623-9205-3.

A New Magical Read in "Impyrium"

New fantasy series
New fantasy series | Source
Magical black and white illustrations add to the story
Magical black and white illustrations add to the story | Source
Hob has his own agenda along with Hazel
Hob has his own agenda along with Hazel | Source
Source

Get Acquainted with Author Henry H. Neff

Neff's first series, "The Tapestry", is joined by his new book "Impyrium" and the first in a new series. His first series combined his love of world history and mythologies. He sets his new story in the distant future and his characters in "Impyrium" have evolved from his first series in "The Tapestry".

Neff does not write for any particular age range, but he states that he is satisfied with the fact that his books are recommended for readers in the middle grades. He states that his character Hazel in "Impyrium" was the most challenging to develop, and he is very happy with the way that she underwent all of the growing changes through the book. and he feels that she is a plausible character. Neff states that he has pride in being highly detailed in his writing.

You may learn more about Henry H. Neff by visiting his website at www.henryhneff.com.

Author Henry H. Neff

Get to know the author Henry H. Neff
Get to know the author Henry H. Neff | Source

How Well Do You Know "Impyrium"

view quiz statistics

The Appeal of Magical Characters to Young Readers

Everyone knows the popular magical characters of the Harry Potter books. Neff's characters will join the Potter characters in popularity as readers get to know the characters in "Impyrium". Magical characters are appealing to fans of the fantasy genre for several reasons. Some characters or creatures are able to spark empathy in a reader. Young readers in the age range of 8 years to young teens are often outcasts and aspire to belong to the "in" group. Magical creatures and characters are often in the "out" group in a story. Magical characters are different and young readers are often able to relate to these characters or creatures. Magical creatures or characters often encounter prejudice in a story. Hazel in "Impyrium" is a good example of a character who is an outcast because she is different from her sisters.

Young readers also find magical characters or creatures appealing in that these characters help to develop personalities that have different perspectives on the presence of differences. These types of characters help readers to develop tolerance. Dragons and unicorns are just a few of the types of magical characters that fans of this genre find appealing. Young readers of "Impyrium" might like to research the similarities and differences found in other cultures when they read. Good perspectives about social values come from reading fantasy stories such as Neff's books.

Appealing Magical Creatures in Fantasy Stories

Magical characters or creatures appeal to young readers
Magical characters or creatures appeal to young readers | Source
Source
Source

Fans of Sorcery, Magic, and Mystery

Do you appreciate the fun in reading this genre of books?

See results

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      No comments yet.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wehavekids.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wehavekids.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)