"More Than Magic": Girl Power Rocks in a Magical and Empowering Story of Strength and Friendship

Updated on September 12, 2016
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Girl Power Saves the Day for Friends

Girls like to have their own cartoon heroines that go along with the male adventure characters. Saturday morning cartoons now have many more heroines than in the past. Kathryn Lasky's new book, "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" is a fun read for ages 9-12 who are fans of girl heroines. Readers will relate to the problems that Ryder Holmsby encounters after her mom passes away and her dad begins dating a woman with two daughters. The inevitable personality differences with the three girls bring on clashes and Ryder turns to the cartoon character that her parents created when they worked as animators.

Rory, the cartoon heroine, comes to life with her own problem. The television series wants to turn her into a princess instead of a girl who wields a slingshot. Neither Ryder nor Rory are the type of girl that is into fashion and makeup at this stage in their life, and they join forces to solve the problems that each faces. Hilarious adventures become a part of the story as they seek to help each other navigate the problems of helping Ryder gain self-esteem to face the stuck-up girls and Rory's fight to remain the character that she was created to be.

Lasky writes with the humor that young readers will appreciate. Her cartoon characters are appealing and can easily join the other cartoon heroes and heroines that appear on television. Ricardo Tercio contributes his illustrator's talent with magical black and white drawings. This chapter book is an easy read for young readers. Chapter books are popular with children in the middle grades in that they can read for a short period of time and pick up the book at a later time after each chapter. "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" was published by Wendy Lamb Books, a division of Random House Children's Books, and has an ISBN of 978-0-553-49891-2. It is a great read for building self-esteem in girls.

Great Read for Fans of Cartoon Heroines and Heros

Great read for children in the middle grades
Great read for children in the middle grades | Source
Magical cartoon-like black and white illustrations
Magical cartoon-like black and white illustrations | Source
Source
Source
Source

Get Acquainted with Author Kathryn Lasky

Kathryn Laskyis is best known for her bestselling "Guardians of Ga'Hoole" series, which became a major animated movie, and was listed as one of the top ten most beautiful animated movies of all time by Cinefix. She is the recipient of the Newberry Award, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, and the National Jewish Book Award for several books. You may visit her website at www.kathrynlasky.com.


Author Kathryn Lasky

Source

Magical Quiz about "More Than Magic"

view quiz statistics

Appealing Book with Cartoon Heroine Helps with Self-Esteem for Girls

The middle grades for girls can be difficult. Lansky's "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" is a great tool for young readers to learn about self-esteem. By the time children are in the 3rd and 4th grade, power and social struggles are present. Friendships become important and all readers will relate to the "mean girl" idea that is present between Ryder and her dad's new relationship with a woman who has two daughters. Competition and cliques are part of these years. The media also play an important part in the lives of children in the middle grades. Cartoon character heroines can be a great tool for building self-esteem. "More Than Magic" has all of these elements that will appeal to young readers and the story contains a life lesson in growing self-esteem.

Children Who Relate to Cartoon Heroines

Do you have children in the middle grades who relate to cartoon heroines or heroes?

See results

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      No comments yet.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wehavekids.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wehavekids.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)