"More Than Magic": Girl Power Rocks in a Magical and Empowering Story of Strength and Friendship - WeHaveKids - Family
Updated date:

"More Than Magic": Girl Power Rocks in a Magical and Empowering Story of Strength and Friendship

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Girl Power Saves the Day for Friends

Girls like to have their own cartoon heroines that go along with the male adventure characters. Saturday morning cartoons now have many more heroines than in the past. Kathryn Lasky's new book, "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" is a fun read for ages 9-12 who are fans of girl heroines. Readers will relate to the problems that Ryder Holmsby encounters after her mom passes away and her dad begins dating a woman with two daughters. The inevitable personality differences with the three girls bring on clashes and Ryder turns to the cartoon character that her parents created when they worked as animators.

Rory, the cartoon heroine, comes to life with her own problem. The television series wants to turn her into a princess instead of a girl who wields a slingshot. Neither Ryder nor Rory are the type of girl that is into fashion and makeup at this stage in their life, and they join forces to solve the problems that each faces. Hilarious adventures become a part of the story as they seek to help each other navigate the problems of helping Ryder gain self-esteem to face the stuck-up girls and Rory's fight to remain the character that she was created to be.

Lasky writes with the humor that young readers will appreciate. Her cartoon characters are appealing and can easily join the other cartoon heroes and heroines that appear on television. Ricardo Tercio contributes his illustrator's talent with magical black and white drawings. This chapter book is an easy read for young readers. Chapter books are popular with children in the middle grades in that they can read for a short period of time and pick up the book at a later time after each chapter. "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" was published by Wendy Lamb Books, a division of Random House Children's Books, and has an ISBN of 978-0-553-49891-2. It is a great read for building self-esteem in girls.

Great Read for Fans of Cartoon Heroines and Heros

Great read for children in the middle grades

Great read for children in the middle grades

Magical cartoon-like black and white illustrations

Magical cartoon-like black and white illustrations

more-than-magic-girl-power-rocks-in-a-magical-and-empowering-story-of-strength-and-friendship
more-than-magic-girl-power-rocks-in-a-magical-and-empowering-story-of-strength-and-friendship
more-than-magic-girl-power-rocks-in-a-magical-and-empowering-story-of-strength-and-friendship

Get Acquainted with Author Kathryn Lasky

Kathryn Laskyis is best known for her bestselling "Guardians of Ga'Hoole" series, which became a major animated movie, and was listed as one of the top ten most beautiful animated movies of all time by Cinefix. She is the recipient of the Newberry Award, the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award, and the National Jewish Book Award for several books. You may visit her website at www.kathrynlasky.com.


Author Kathryn Lasky

more-than-magic-girl-power-rocks-in-a-magical-and-empowering-story-of-strength-and-friendship

Magical Quiz about "More Than Magic"

For each question, choose the best answer. The answer key is below.

  1. Why was Ryder lonely?
    • Her mom passed away
    • She lost her best friend
  2. Where did Rory come from?
    • Out of the television as a character invented by Ryder's parents
    • From Venus
  3. How did the tv producers want to change Rory?
    • They wanted to make her a princess
    • They wanted to make her a pirate
  4. Who is TD?
    • A Jewish prince as a cartoon character
    • A frog
  5. What fairy tale resembles the ending of "More Than Magic"?
    • Cinderella
    • The Frog and the Prince

Answer Key

  1. Her mom passed away
  2. Out of the television as a character invented by Ryder's parents
  3. They wanted to make her a princess
  4. A Jewish prince as a cartoon character
  5. Cinderella

Appealing Book with Cartoon Heroine Helps with Self-Esteem for Girls

The middle grades for girls can be difficult. Lansky's "More Than Magic: Secret Friends to the Rescue" is a great tool for young readers to learn about self-esteem. By the time children are in the 3rd and 4th grade, power and social struggles are present. Friendships become important and all readers will relate to the "mean girl" idea that is present between Ryder and her dad's new relationship with a woman who has two daughters. Competition and cliques are part of these years. The media also play an important part in the lives of children in the middle grades. Cartoon character heroines can be a great tool for building self-esteem. "More Than Magic" has all of these elements that will appeal to young readers and the story contains a life lesson in growing self-esteem.

Children Who Relate to Cartoon Heroines

Related Articles

elly-and-the-smelly-sneaker-gives-new-twist-to-cinderellas-story

"Elly and the Smelly Sneaker": a New Twist to Cinderella's Story

Lesley Gorin's Elly and the Smelly Sneaker is an inspiring story for young girls who are looking for their "girl power." If you have a girl ages 6-10, this fun read aloud is for them.

robot-in-the-classroom-brings-hilarious-chaos-to-science-day

Robot in the Classroom Brings Hilarious Chaos to Science Day

Can your child build a robot? Science Day at school brings the chance for children to create all sorts of things. This fun read aloud can inspire young children to invent something of their own.

magical-characters-sorcery-and-fantasy-thrills-in-a-new-series-for-fans-of-this-genre

Impyrium: Magical Characters, Sorcery, and Fantasy Thrills in a New Series for Fans of the Fantasy Genre

A new series of fantasy will be welcomed by fans of the mystical worlds of Potter and the popular "Game of Thrones". "Impyrium" by Henry Neff will have readers eager to dive in to new magic.

penguins-a-geography-lesson-and-a-life-lesson-in-self-esteem-combine-to-make-a-fun-read-aloud-for-children

Penguins, a Geography Lesson, and a Life Lesson in Self-Esteem Combine to Make a Fun Read Aloud for Children

How is your child's self-esteem? A little blue penguin in a great read aloud book will teach that how one looks on the outside is not as important as what is on the inside.

nature-friendship-and-our-ecosystems-in-a-fascinating-picture-book-with-quirky-animal-partnerships

Teaching Nature, Friendship, and Our Ecosystems in a Fascinating Picture Book With Quirky Animal Partnerships

Friendships between all kinds of animals helps our ecosystems in a variety of fascinating ways. This picture book with fun facts is a great teaching tool for science classrooms.

pup-in-the-shoe-life-lessons-of-unconditional-love-and-family-loyalty-in-colorful-picture-book-for-young-children

"Pup in the Shoe": Life Lessons of Unconditional Love and Family Loyalty in Colorful Picture Book for Young Children

Young children often experience separation anxiety when attending childcare or school. An engaging story of a pup's mom that returns is a great tool for talking with your child about their fears.

stranger-danger-lesson-in-a-fun-read-aloud-book

Stranger Danger Lesson in a Fun Read Aloud Book

Hard lessons can be easily taught to young children when choosing the right book. Teaching stranger danger to young children is one of those lessons. A fun story can help with this lesson.

picture-book-that-gives-back-to-environmental-conservation-and-wildlife-protection

Picture Book That Gives Back to Environmental Conservation and Wildlife Protection

A book that gives back to society is a valuable tool in teaching children to contribute to worthy causes. The theme of giving back combined with animals makes this story a lovely reading experience.

your-alien-returns-in-an-fun-read-aloud-lesson-for-fitting-into-a-new-community

"Your Alien Returns" is a Fun Read Aloud Lesson for Fitting Into a New Community

Moving can be stressful for children. Tammi Sauer's fun read aloud, "Your Alien Returns," is a great choice for young children to learn a lesson in fitting into a new community.

would-your-child-invite-a-tyronosaurus-rex-to-their-birthday-party

Would Your Child Invite a Tyrannosaurus Rex to Their Birthday Party?

Dinosaurs and birthday parties are always a favorite topic with young children. This fun read aloud combines both topics along with a life lesson in patience.

picture-book-teaches-lesson-on-wants-vs-needs

Thousand Star Hotel: A Picture Book That Teaches Lesson on Wants vs. Needs

The popular Okee Dokee brothers are back with a fun picture book that parents will find useful in teaching the important lesson about the topic of wants vs. needs. What do your children wish for?

a-teeny-tiny-halloween-with-a-classic-familiar-character-and-a-new-twist-for-the-autumn-holiday

"A Teeny Tiny Halloween" with a Classic Familiar Character and a New Twist for the Autumn Holiday

Parents who were children in the late 50's and early 60's will remember the classic folk tale of the teeny tiny woman and her bone. "A Teeny Tiny Halloween" brings back memories with this new book.

oskar-loves-invites-young-children-to-explore-and-appreciate-the-world-around-them-in-an-engaging-picture-book

"Oskar Loves" Invites Young Children to Explore and Appreciate the World Around Them in an Engaging Picture Book

What does your young child love? Oskar the raven invites you into his world to share what he loves and to think about the things that the reader loves as you read along.

leaping-lemmings-is-your-child-learning-to-avoid-peer-pressure-and-make-good-independent-decisions

"Leaping Lemmings!" Is Your Child Learning to Avoid Peer Pressure and Make Good Independent Decisions?

Peer pressure can begin as early as the preschool and kindergarten years. Choosing fun read aloud books to discuss this concept can benefit your child when they encounter their first social groups.

josh-funks-the-case-of-the-stinky-stench-is-a-fun-read-aloud-for-young-mystery-readers

Josh Funk's The Case of the Stinky Stench Is a Fun Read Aloud for Young Mystery Readers

What is that awful smell ? Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast are off on their next adventure to solve the mystery of a terrible odor in the fridge. A lesson of compassion is part of the solution.