Sample Complaint Letters to Principal from Parent

Updated on November 26, 2016
A complaint letter may be necessary to help resolve a serious issue at your child's school.
A complaint letter may be necessary to help resolve a serious issue at your child's school. | Source

As a parent, you are the primary advocate for your child. You are the voice for your child when he/she is in danger, or needing assistance. If there is a serious matter at your school that needs to be addressed, a complaint letter might help.

A complaint letter is the first step at addressing the issue with the school principal. It allows him/her some time to think about the complaint before communicating with you. It also demonstrates that you are very serious about this problem, and want it to be resolved

Complaint letters should only be sent in extreme circumstances. Keep in mind, that a principal has a very tough job. His or her time is valuable, and you do not want to get the reputation as a "helicopter parent" for minor issues.

These sample complaint letters might help you write your own letter. They should be typed (if possible) and written in business letter format.

Sample Complaint Letter About Sexual Harassment at School

Dear Mrs. Jimenez,

As a principal, I realize you have a tough and demanding job. I know that you are passionate about helping the students succeed at Oakridge High School. It is important that you know about a serious matter that is happening within your high school.

My daughter, and two of her classmates, are being sexually harassed during P.E. It is happening in the 6th period class taught by Coach Underwood. One male student has been making explicit and inappropriate comments to my daughter, and other girls in the class. This behavior has been happening for four days.

My daughter and I have both spoken with Coach Underwood about this matter. However, it has still continued. My letter to you is my next step in seeing that this student's behavior stops.

I would like to speak with you about this as soon as possible. Please contact me at (543)342-4325. You can also reach me at work at (543)342-5476.

Respectfully,

Jennifer Comiskey

Removing recess time can lead to more behavioral problems.
Removing recess time can lead to more behavioral problems. | Source

Sample Complaint Letter About Removal of Recess Privileges

Dear Dr. Ingham,

Thank-you for your service to Estacado Elementary. I realize that you have a challenging job as an administrator. I think you are doing a great job, and I commend you for your leadership of the school.

However, I am very upset about a situation in my son's first grade class. His teacher, Mrs. Veazey, has repeatedly removed his recess privileges. For at least six times in the past month, he has had to "sit out" from recess to finish his classroom work. While I do understand that he needs to be more efficient, I feel that his recess privileges should not be revoked.

As you may know, recess allows student to get exercise, build friendships and take a break from classroom work. I feel that missing this time hinders his performance. He needs the time to let out his energy, play, and socialize.

I have spoken with Mrs. Veazey about this on two occasions, March 18th and March 25th. On both times, she has said that removing recess is necessary so that he can finish his work. I do not agree with this.

I would like to speak with you regarding this matter. Perhaps we can find a different solution that does not require removing his recess privileges. I will call you sometime this week about this. Feel free to call me sooner at (342)333-1923.

Thank-you for your time and attention to this issue.

Sincerely,

Valerie Omama


Source


These are just two sample complaint letters to principals from a parent. For additional advice, please read, "Sample Complaint Letters to Principal about Lice" and "Sample Complaint Letters to Principal about Cyberbullying."

If you are still stumped, ask a trusted friend for advice. You might also ask for assistance on a mom's forum. On some message boards, (such as cafemom.com), you can post a sample letter and receive lots of critique and advice.

Never ignore your instinct to respond to a serious issues at your child's school. Problems such as bullying, poor teacher behavior, and poor environment should be taken seriously.

If your child's principal does not respond within a reasonable time, call him/her. If nothing is done about the issue, contact the superintendent.

Good Luck!

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Dv 

        2 months ago

        It was really helpful thank you

      • profile image

        joe 

        2 months ago

        how to draft a letter to school owner ,regarding the manortory of class on every Saturday, due to which students are gets mentally disturbance.

      • profile image

        Lax 

        3 months ago

        My daughter school tuition joining request letter format

      • profile image

        Masarat qadri 

        4 months ago

        Hw to start a letter to teacher of my son regarding his showing unintrest in studies

      • profile image

        adamu 

        4 months ago

        Good experience

      • profile image

        Mishu 

        4 months ago

        It is so baddd

      • profile image

        Nicky S 

        14 months ago

        Nyc experience eey

      • profile image

        Reenu 

        15 months ago

        Very nice experience

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wehavekids.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wehavekids.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)