Review of the Baby Trend Sit N Stand DX — Best Double Stroller for the Price

Updated on August 11, 2017
ThePracticalMommy profile image

Marissa is the writer of ThePracticalMommy and owner of Mommy Knows What's Best. She is a stay-at-home mom to four and was a teacher.

Double Strollers

Warm weather makes it perfect for taking a stroll with the kids in the stroller. When I had two children under the age of three, I began my research for a double stroller since I wanted to be able to bring both kids with me without bringing two strollers.

I needed something that was large enough for my tall toddler and a carrier seat, but small enough for the average sized mom to maneuver, fold and store away. And of course, the price had to be right!

When looking for double strollers online, I came to find that I would have two options: side-by-side or streamlined. The second option seemed more appealing to me.

Baby Trend Sit N Stand Double Stroller

Click thumbnail to view full-size
My son and daughter in the Sit-n-Stand during a long shopping trip.The Baby Trend Double Stroller moves well over grass or mulch, as in this park. It's nice to have the back seat for a windy or cool day. The front shade and seat blocks the breeze from the baby! The tray cup can hold little snacks, snack cups or drink cups.
My son and daughter in the Sit-n-Stand during a long shopping trip.
My son and daughter in the Sit-n-Stand during a long shopping trip. | Source
The Baby Trend Double Stroller moves well over grass or mulch, as in this park.
The Baby Trend Double Stroller moves well over grass or mulch, as in this park. | Source
It's nice to have the back seat for a windy or cool day. The front shade and seat blocks the breeze from the baby!
It's nice to have the back seat for a windy or cool day. The front shade and seat blocks the breeze from the baby! | Source
The tray cup can hold little snacks, snack cups or drink cups.
The tray cup can hold little snacks, snack cups or drink cups. | Source

Best Double Stroller

While doing my research online, I came across the Baby Trend Sit N Stand.

They offer the ability to have a regular seat in front sturdy enough to hold an infant carrier and a platform area in the back for a toddler-sized child who could choose to sit and ride or stand and ride. I liked the option for toddlers, since my son has recently become resistant to strollers and I couldn’t see wrestling him into a smaller seat offered by many of the other doubles.

After reading many actual reviews by parents, I decided to look further into this stroller. It seemed great for me, but I still had to see it for myself.

Baby Trend Sit N Stand Double Stroller Review

1. Two seats, one removable to access standing/sitting platform

2. Graco infant carrier fits

3. Easy to maneuver

4. Not difficult to fold or store

5. Handle height great for average size mom and tall dad

6. Makes moving around with two much easier

Rate This Baby Trend Double Stroller!

3.9 out of 5 stars from 9 ratings of Baby Trend Sit-N-Stand Double Stroller

Easy to Use Double Stroller!

Do You Need a Double Stroller?

When you had more than one child, did you find the need for a double stroller?

See results

Taking a Test Drive with the Baby Trend Sit N Stand

My husband and I decided to go to Babies-R-Us since we knew we could see a model of the stroller and actually try to use it. At first we looked at the LX model of the Sit N Stand. We were easily able to attach our Graco infant carrier seat in the front seat (with my daughter sleeping in it) and it was very easy to maneuver for both of us. My husband liked that the handle is high enough for him—and he’s over six feet tall!

The folding of the stroller wasn’t as easy as my one-handed moves I was able to do with my Graco, but it wasn’t a struggle either. As we placed that model back on the shelf, though, we noticed the next model up, the DX. It was the same except that for a few dollars more it added a removable seat in the back just the same as the front that was strong enough for the carrier and large enough to accommodate my tall toddler. We decided to buy that model, the DX, and traded in our Graco to save some money.

When closed, stroller stands nicely on its own and can easily be placed in a closet space.
When closed, stroller stands nicely on its own and can easily be placed in a closet space. | Source

Using a Double Stroller : Pros and Cons

I love our ‘roller-coaster-stroller’, as my son calls it. It’s been great to use, it fits in both of our vehicles (an SUV and truck…it probably wouldn’t be suitable for a compact car…) and it has made shopping trips and walks a breeze. My son likes the removable back seat (he doesn’t know it is removable just yet…) and my daughter has used the front seat with her carrier and now sits in the regular seat just fine. My one dislike would have to be the placement of the storage basket, though. It’s under both seats and a bit hard to reach at times. For me though, it’s no biggie. I bought myself a smaller bag for diapers, wipes and bottles that fits under there quite nicely.

I have taken this stroller everywhere: parks, malls, stores, museums, and even a muddy farm. It moves easily and fits almost anywhere, better than a double wide stroller would.


A Year Later with My Baby Trend Sit N Stand Double Stroller

It has been a year now since I first bought this amazing double stroller. I am still as happy with it as I was the first time I used it. My son is older now and is able to stand in the back after the second seat was removed. It's nice because on occasion when he wants to get out and walk next to me, he is able to do so with ease. The times when he chooses to walk, I use the extra space to transport things I have bought at the store or the diaper bag.

The removal of the second seat was actually pretty easy. I needed a phillips head screwdriver to remove two screws and the rest unsnapped out of place. It took me less than 10 minutes to complete, and that was without the manual. Pretty impressive! I'm storing the extra parts for when I have the next baby and need to use the stroller for the two youngest kids.

Still Using My Baby Trend Double Stroller!

It's been about four years since I bought this stroller, and I'm still using it!

Looking for a great double stroller? Give the Baby Trend Sit N Stand a try!

©ThePracticalMommy

Do You Have a Baby Trend Stroller or Other Double Stroller?

Tell me about your experience!

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        5 years ago from United States

        Anna, I'm glad you like the stroller! Thanks for reading!

      • profile image

        Anna 

        5 years ago

        After reading your review, I felt I was lucky to have this Baby Trend Sit n Stand LX stoller in Singapore. I have people in the mall coming up to me asking about it. There was once I even had one 5 year old and two 3 year olds in the stroller at one time.

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        5 years ago from United States

        Loni, I visited the Baby Trend site, and I don't think they sell the seat separately from what I can see. I'm sure if you give them a call they might be able to tell you about replacement parts.

      • profile image

        Loni 

        5 years ago

        do you know if they sell the back seat seperatly?

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        6 years ago from United States

        Steph, yes, my toddler still had plenty of space, and he was two and a half when our second baby came. The seats are also far enough apart so that there'd be no way for a child in the back to be kicked in the face by an infant in a carrier. Thanks for reading and taking the time to ask the question! Lots of luck with the new baby!

      • profile image

        Steph 

        6 years ago

        When your toddler was still in the back seat. Did you find he still had a lot of space with the infant carrier I front of him? My daughter will only be 18 months when the ext one comes along and I'm nervous about my daughter being kicked in the face from the infant. Did you ever run into this problem?

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        6 years ago from United States

        sunbun143, you won't be disappointed if you do buy the Baby Trend Sit-n-Stand! It's great for when you have to go out by yourself with the kids. Your Graco car seat should fit in the stroller just fine (I had a large carrier and mine fit) and your toddler will enjoy the ride. Let me know what you think of it if you do purchase one! Thanks for reading and commenting! :)

      • sunbun143 profile image

        sunbun143 

        6 years ago from Los Angeles, CA

        I've totally thought about buying this one...we instead just have a Peg perego si (lightweight stroller) for our 26-month old, and use our old graco snugride car seat/frame for our newborn. My husband and I each have to push one. So...I haven't gone out alone with them much, unless I know there will be a grocery cart (one in the seat, which I pray has a belt, and my newborn in the basket, still in his car seat). Not fun. Thanks for your review!

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        7 years ago from United States

        Chrystal Lee, that really is a shame that you can't enjoy yourselves as a family on weekends because of how other people are. What I really like about the Sit-n-Stand is that is is just as wide as a regular singular stroller, so it is manageable in crowds and in stores.

        Sorry you have trouble because of your stroller, but thanks for reading and commenting! :)

      • Chrystal Lee profile image

        Chrystal Lee 

        7 years ago from Singapore

        I never came across this while searching for a twin stroller. We're using a Maclaren Twin Techno, and in Singapore the pathways and malls aren't very stroller-friendly, so you can imagine how many times we've gotten rude stares from people who don't understand. As a result we don't usually go out as a family on weekends to avoid the crowd, and run our errands with the kids only on weekdays!

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        7 years ago from United States

        Great idea, Learn Things Web! The Sit n Stand would be pretty handy with even one child. The extra space could be used to hold the diaper bag or shopping bags. Thanks for reading!

      • Learn Things Web profile image

        Learn Things Web 

        7 years ago from California

        I have one of these strollers. It was so handy until my kids got too big to push. I wish I had known to buy one when my first child was born because I ended up buying two strollers. Just get a Sit and Stand first.

      • ThePracticalMommy profile imageAUTHOR

        Marissa 

        7 years ago from United States

        Thanks for the comment, ManuPria!

      • ManuPria profile image

        ManuPria 

        7 years ago from India

        Great tips to choose a stroller for my little daughter! I realise that I cannot buy a stroller straight away, but there are so many things to keep in mind while buying one.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wehavekids.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wehavekids.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)