Huffy Green Machine Bike Reviews

Updated on December 23, 2017
leahlefler profile image

My seven-year-old son received a Green Machine for Christmas, and I'm here to share my honest review of it.

Green Machine

The author's tall 7-year-old son rides his new Huffy Green Machine on Christmas Day.
The author's tall 7-year-old son rides his new Huffy Green Machine on Christmas Day. | Source

The Green Machine Big Wheel

The original Green Machine was a toy of the late 1970s and was a souped-up version of the classic "Big Wheel" tricycle. The Green Machine was fast, had swivel-action rear wheels, and could spin and out-maneuver a standard Big Wheel. The bike was originally targeted to kids who were in the 8-10 year old age range, and many 30-40 year old adults remember the bike with nostalgia.

Huffy is still manufacturing the bike, and it is a really cool ride-on toy for older kids. The "stick shift" steering mechanism includes two lever-style handles that control the swivel of the rear wheels. A hand brake is attached to one lever, allowing the child to slow the bike down. A junior version of the bike is also available for kids in the 5-8 year old range.

The Jr. version of the bike does not have a metal frame, hand brake, or a pneumatic front tire. The frame and wheels are plastic, but the bike functions well and is a great "starter" version of the toy for younger kids. These bikes are not intended for preschoolers, and children under the age of 5 years will not be able to reach the pedals on the bikes (even on the "junior" version).

Green Machine Rating

4 stars for Huffy Green Machine

Green Machine Bikes and Weight Limits

Bike
Age
Weight Limit
Huffy Green Machine
8 years and up
Up to 180 pounds
Huffy Green Machine Jr.
5-8 years
Up to 150 pounds
Huffy Green Machine H2O
5-12 years
Up to 180 pounds
The Huffy Green Machine is for kids ages 8 and up, and the Green Machine Jr. is for younger children (ages 5-8). The H2O version has limited legroom due to the water tank on the back of the bike and may not fit adolescents or adults.

Green Machine Bike - Fun Bike for Kids

Huffy 20in Green Machine Bike
Huffy 20in Green Machine Bike

The original version of the bike is fast, spinning fun for kids ages 8 and up. The weight limit is up to 180 pounds, allowing adults to get in on the fun!

 

Green Machine Performance and Review

My seven year old son received a Green Machine for Christmas. He is tall for his age, and this bike was preferred over the Green Machine Jr., since he would likely outgrow the Jr. version of the bike in a short period of time.

The bike comes unassembled and is a bit tedious to put together. All of the necessary tools are supplied, including an Allen wrench. The assembly took approximately 1 hour, including the application of the decals.

My son is 49" tall and could barely reach the pedals with the seat pushed all the way forward. The seat is adjustable, and will slide back as he grows. He donned his helmet and took the bike out for a spin (literally).

The steering is done via two hand levers, and my son got the hang of it after a few rides. By pulling the levers in opposite directions, the bike is able to spin in 180° arcs. A helmet is absolutely necessary, as the bike may tip over when a spin is performed at high speeds.

The metal frame and front rubber tire make this bike excellent for riding on asphalt and other rough surfaces. Unlike the Razor 360, this bike will perform on our rough country roads. We had considered other spin bikes, but they feature caster wheels that only work on smooth surfaces.

Original Green Machine Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • The bike fits older children and adults up to 180 pounds.
  • The bike spins and offers a smooth ride.
  • The bike works on rough asphalt as well as smooth cement.
  • The bike is durable with a solid feel.

Cons:

  • The bike may tip over when spinning at high speeds (helmets required)!
  • Customers have reported problems with the seat breaking or sliding. Our bike did not have this problem, so the defect may have been corrected.

The Original Green Machine and the Junior Version

The Huffy Green Machine (left) and the Green Machine Jr. (right) are great fun for kids.
The Huffy Green Machine (left) and the Green Machine Jr. (right) are great fun for kids. | Source

The Green Machine Jr. Performance and Review

The original Green Machine is designed for older children, and will be too large for kids in the early elementary school age range. My younger son is 5 years old, 38 pounds, and 42" tall. Huffy manufactures a "Jr." version of the bike for children in the 5-8 year old age range.

I assembled the Jr. Green Machine in approximately 90 minutes. This bike was more challenging to assemble than the original version. Sliding the axle pole through the rear tire assembly was extremely frustrating, and this was the most difficult part of putting the bike together. The instructions were also difficult to follow. Once the bike was together, it felt solid and stable.

This version of the bike is all plastic - the front wheel is also plastic, unlike the rubber tire offered in the "big" version. While this bike is the "Jr." size, it is still a large bike and my five year old child could not quite reach the pedals, even with the seat pushed all the way forward. We used a rolled-up towel in the seat to allow him to ride the bike.

This bike performs well and is perfect for younger kids who still want the thrill of a Green Machine. My five year old loves riding his bike and will do spins and other tricks while riding. A helmet is absolutely required for these bikes, as the bikes may tip when spinning.

Green Machine Jr.

The Green Machine Jr. is perfect for kids in the 5-8 year old age range.
The Green Machine Jr. is perfect for kids in the 5-8 year old age range. | Source

Green Machine Jr. Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Perfect for kids in the 5-8 year old age range.
  • Durable and sturdy once assembled.
  • Spins and performs tricks like the "big" version of the bike.
  • Works on rough asphalt as well as smooth cement.

Cons:

  • Difficult to assemble, particularly the rear wheel assembly.
  • Some customers have noted problems with the rear wheels breaking. We have not had this problem - the difficult and unclear assembly process probably contribute to this problem.
  • The bike may be too large for some small 5 year old children.

The Green Machine and Green Machine Jr. in Action

1978 Green Machine Commercial

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        3 years ago from Western New York

        My boys still love their Green Machines, Kristen! My younger son can still ride his "Junior" Green Machine, though he prefers the big one. My older son is 9 1/2 and rides his all the time!

      • Kristen Howe profile image

        Kristen Howe 

        3 years ago from Northeast Ohio

        Great bike review Leah for kids. Talk about nostalgic, when I remember Big Wheels in the mid 1980s. Voted up for interesting!

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        3 years ago from Western New York

        It is a fun bike, RealtorRachael. Our boys love spinning out in the driveway.

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        3 years ago from Western New York

        We had an extremely difficult time putting our Green Machines together. I hope you can either return your bike or exchange it for one that is easier to put together. Our boys do love them, but the assembly process was a nightmare!

      • profile image

        Rachael Okerstrom 

        3 years ago from Fort Myers FL

        This looks like an awesome bike for kids. Great option for Christmas. Love it!

      • profile image

        WowoP 

        3 years ago

        I'm trying to put a big one together for this Christmas (2014). I think I'll have to take it back when stores open tomorrow. The receiving nut for the bolt that holds the wheels on is so full of welded metal that the bolt won't even fit without stripping.

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        4 years ago from Western New York

        Oh, Brittany - so frustrating! I had read about issues with the seat cracking and breaking, but hadn't heard about the bolt issue with the frame! Our Green Machine has held up well, but it sounds like there is a definite design or manufacturing problem with the front wheel fork. I hope Huffy will replace the bike or reimburse you for your expenses. I am so frustrated when a toy turns out to be poor quality.. or even worse, has a safety issue. Keep me updated on what happens? I will add your experience into the article (with your permission). Thanks!

      • profile image

        Brittany 

        4 years ago

        I am not impressed by this new version of the Green Machine. We purchased on for our son for Christmas this year and had to take one back due to the bolt that holds the wheels to the frame busting after 2 days of riding it and now 2 months later we have the same issue. I'm very frustrated. Just waiting for a phone call from Huffy to see what they will do about this situation.

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        4 years ago from Western New York

        Allen, are you trying to put the Green Machine Jr. together? It is EXTREMELY hard to get the limiter pin put through the holes - I was beyond frustrated with the process. I finally got mine through, but I was ready to throw the whole thing across the room by the time I managed to get it secured. The "big" Green Machine is MUCH easier to put together.. the Green Machine Jr. is a pain in the neck! I hope you manage to get the pin through - it is the most difficult part of the entire process. It does help if you have a second person to hold the rear axle steady while you're putting the pin through, but it is nearly impossible to get the entire assembly to line up.

      • profile image

        Allen 

        4 years ago

        How did you get that "Limiter Pin" through the plastic and posts for the rear axle? No matter what I do, it won't line up!!! Please help. Thanks

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        5 years ago from Western New York

        The Green Machines spin at a pretty high velocity, teaches, so helmets are definitely necessary! My boys automatically put them on when we go outside to ride any sort of bike or scooter. I have a friend whose daughter recently fell from a scooter and had a severe concussion with some bleeding on her brain. She may have permanent brain damage now (slurring words, some confusion) - we hope she recovers, but I am fanatical about wearing helmets. You can fix a broken arm, but you can't fix a broken brain!

      • teaches12345 profile image

        Dianna Mendez 

        5 years ago

        I remember how my kid used to love his big wheels when he was little. They are such fun! I am glad you mentioned they need helmets, it can be a little thrilling when you take a spin or tumble. Great share and thanks for the tip down memory lane.

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        5 years ago from Western New York

        I remember a Green Machine on our street as a kid, Lipnancy - but it was owned by an older boy. I was born in 1977, so I was still a very little kid in the late '70's and early '80's. These bikes are quite large and really meant for the 8-10 year old age range. I'm glad they came out with the Jr. version, as my younger son loves to ride it, but could never reach the pedals on the full-size version!

      • Lipnancy profile image

        Nancy Yager 

        5 years ago from Hamburg, New York

        I do not remember these. I think all we had were big wheels. I find the stirring mechanism interesting.

      • leahlefler profile imageAUTHOR

        Leah Lefler 

        5 years ago from Western New York

        Thanks, Mhatter99. My kids really love their bikes. There are some reports of the seat breaking from other customers, so hopefully our Green Machine will be OK (I hope Huffy has fixed the problem). So far, so good!

      • Mhatter99 profile image

        Martin Kloess 

        5 years ago from San Francisco

        Thank you for this review.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, wehavekids.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://wehavekids.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)